32 WEEKS

I’m confused. I have 8 weeks until my due date and yes I’m aware babies can come early, and late! But the varying responses I get when people ask how much longer I have left is starting to bother me.
Some people seem to think 8 weeks is not much time and exclaim that I’m crazy for not having packed a hospital bag or washed all my cloth nappies, bought my breast pump etc and go into a frenzy and panic as if it is themselves that are pregnant and have to organize everything before baby arrives. On the other hand there are people who scoff and roll their eyes when I say I’m trying to work through my list of what I need to buy before baby comes and write a list of what I need to pack into my hospital bag and think of easy meals to have on hand or in the freezer for after the birth. My mother is guilty of this type of reaction.
I don’t feel a sense of urgency. I don’t feel rushed. I’m just taking it one day at a time, making lists and working through them. I got hubby to pull the suitcase out of the shed on the weekend so we can start thinking about packing the hospital bag. I’m sure it’ll sit empty and unopened for another 2 or 3 weeks before we start putting anything into it! I did start to pack the nappy bag over the weekend, which only arrived in the mail last Friday. I didn’t even think to pack one for the trip home from the hospital – my husband came up with that smart idea (we don’t live close to the hospital so it may be needed).
Another thing that bothers me? People (namely family) seem to get so upset when you tell them you just bought [insert object] for the baby. Even if it’s an essential item needed in preparation for the birth or for the day baby comes home from hospital, people seem to be getting upset and angry that we are buying everything for the baby. They say “what are we supposed to give when it is born if you keep buying everything?!” Oh, excuse me for trying to be organized. I told people what I needed for the baby shower but nobody listened so after the shower we went shopping and got what was still needed like some cot sheets and a bouncer and a few more 0000 onesies. Two families members then thought it was acceptable to be upset over the fact that we did this as maybe they wanted to get those things when the baby was born as a gift. Pretty sure I need nappies and cot sheets and clothing BEFORE the big day!
*breathe*
How far along? 32 weeks 1 day.
Total weight gain: 11.5kgs
Maternity clothes? Nothing is fitting properly but I’m determined not to go shopping for maternity clothes this late in the pregnancy!
Stretch marks? None.
Sleep: Much better lately but dreaming vividly every night and waking up covered in sweat. But at least I’m sleeping!
Best moment last week: Any time I have an antenatal appointment (had one last week) is the best moment because I never get tired of hearing baby’s heartbeat at the check ups!
Miss Anything? Laying on my stomach… just to read or sleep etc.
Movement: It’s becoming more uncomfortable now, big stretches and pushing my belly to the max!
Food cravings: Orange juice.
Anything making you queasy or sick: No.
Gender: Feeling girl lately.
Labor Signs: Nope.
Symptoms: So so so many pains. Hips, upper back, lower back, pelvis, stomach, neck, etc. Lots and lots of braxton hicks lately.
Belly Button in or out? Still in.
Wedding rings on or off? Off.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy! Excited for baby to come soon.
Looking forward to: Just soaking up the next 8 or so weeks… really trying to enjoy being pregnant before it’s over.
Leave a Reply

